Posts by Angela Glindermann

Announcing the speakers for the 2020 (virtual) Educational Publishing Awards Australia

As the 2020 EPAA awards celebration approaches, we are proud to announce two inspiring speakers who will be joining us on the night.

Tamil Sri Lankan–born teacher and leader Yasodai Selvakumaran teaches at Rooty Hill High School in Western Sydney. This culturally and linguistically diverse school, based in an area with socio-economic challenges, has been named one of Australia’s 40 most innovative schools in 2016 and 2017. In her short career, Yasodai has already garnered an array of accolades, including the 2014 Australian Council of Educational Leadership Mary Armstrong Award for Outstanding Young Educational Leader, a place on The Educator Australia’s 2017 Rising Stars list, and the Australian Teaching Fellowship for 2018.

Jane Doyle is the K–2 Teaching and Learning Coordinator and Literacy Support teacher at Dominic College in Tasmania. Establishing a range of initiatives, such as a K–6 Japanese language program, the Mamma Margaret Kitchen Garden program, and a parent–teacher literacy and numeracy program, Jane has developed many resources and programs to support students and the school community. In 2018, she received the Pearson Award for Teacher of the Year, and she was also recognised at the Australian Scholarships Group National Excellence in Teaching Awards.

To hear from these innovative leaders in education, we invite you to join us for the 2020 Educational Publishing Awards, to be held online in a free digital event on Thursday 3 September, with thanks to our major sponsor The Copyright Agency.

Educators, librarians and booksellers – you’re invited!

Calling all teachers, librarians and booksellers: rate your favourite educational publisher.

The Educational Publishing Awards Australia celebrate excellence and innovation in educational publishing. The event recognises publishers who are creating cutting-edge, groundbreaking and pedagogically sound resources for teachers and students. The most coveted awards on the night are decided by the votes of our partners in education: educators, librarians and booksellers (that’s you!).

If you buy, sell or use educational resources such as textbooks, we want you to cast your vote and help decide this year’s Australian Primary and Secondary Publishers of the Year.

And then, wherever you are, we welcome you to tune in to see if they take out this year’s major prizes at the Educational Publishing Awards Australia.

Please complete this short survey to have your say about Australia’s educational publishers. You’ll be asked to rate these publishers on five areas: product quality, field services, company services, marketing and innovation. The survey should take no longer than 10 minutes. The survey closes on Friday 10 July 2020 at 11:59pm AEST.

To say thank you, your survey response will also automatically put you in the draw to win a $500 David Jones gift card, or one of two Australian Book Industry Award prize packs (a pile of new books!).

The survey will ask for your email address to ensure we only receive one response per person. However, the survey data is completely anonymous. The awards are organised by the Australian Publishers Association. If you have any issues with the survey, please contact

Thank you for completing the survey, and we look forward to bringing you an exciting online celebration in September! As we take the awards ceremony online this year, we invite you to join us in celebrating at our free digital event on Thursday 3 September 2020. Proudly sponsored by the Copyright Agency.

For more information about the Educational Publishing Awards, follow us on Twitter.

2020 entries are now open (now extended)

Entries are now open for the 2020 Educational Publishing Awards. Australian educational publishers can submit learning resources published between 1 April 2019 and 31 March 2020.

The 28th Educational Publishing Awards Australia will be held as a special digital event, due to current circumstances. Save the date to join us virtually on Thursday 3 September 2020.

The 2020 Educational Publishing Awards are now open for entries.

The call for entries is open now:

Nominations must be submitted by Friday 5 June 2020, now extended from the original closing date of 29 May.

Please read the conditions of entry and judging criteria before submitting your nomination here.

Publishing companies of all sizes are welcomed to enter. Whether you are submitting from a traditional publishing company, a small publisher or a start-up company, we are excited to receive your submission.

Award categories include Primary, Secondary, and Tertiary, TAFE and Vocational Education, as well as the Primary and Secondary Publishers of the Year.

Browse the full list of 2020 awards categories here, and view last year’s winners here.

How do I enter?

Entries are made via this digital platform. Please note that judging will be conducted remotely due to social distancing requirements, so please provide your resource in a digital format. You can also consider providing a short video walkthrough or introduction to accompany your entry.

Head to this link to read the criteria for each category and follow the prompts to submit your learning resource.

Judges for 2020

Judging of the awards is a rigorous process for all involved. Returning to the role of Chief Judge for the fifth year in a row is Professor Angela Carbone, Associate Dean (Learning Innovation), Faculty of Science, Engineering and Technology at Swinburne University of Technology. An overall winner for each sector (Primary, Secondary and Tertiary and TAFE & Vocational) will be selected by the Chief Judge from the category winners.

Save the date

Save the date for a special digital Educational Publishing Awards, to be held online on Thursday 3 September 2020. Stay tuned for more details.